STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C9-00-602

ORDER ESTABLISHING MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT TASK FORCE ON COURT APPOINTED CIVIL COUNSEL

WHEREAS, in 1999 the Minnesota Legislature requested the Supreme Court to establish a task force to study and make recommendations regarding a system for funding and administering court appointed attorney functions in civil cases; and

WHEREAS, the goal of the task force is to design a system that is independent from court and county administration and funding and that promotes equal access to justice and equal representation for indigent persons across the state.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

- 1. The Minnesota Supreme Court Task Force on Court Appointed Civil Counsel is hereby established to:
 - (a) Study and make recommendations regarding a system that provides attorneys and related personnel in civil proceedings where indigent persons are entitled to court appointed counsel;
 - (b) Address civil proceedings including civil commitment and proceedings under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B, child protections cases, paternity cases, and guardianship or conservatorship cases;
 - (c) Consider the creation of an independent court appointed attorney board to manage civil court appointed attorney functions; and
 - (d) Make recommendations on other options identified by the task force.
- 2. The Task Force shall submit to the Court its final report and recommendations on or before December 15, 2000.

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

APR 1 8 2000



3. The following individuals are hereby appointed as members of the Minnesota Supreme Court Task Force on Court Appointed Civil Counsel:

> John Stuart, State Public Defender's Office Floyd Pnewski, Judicare of Anoka County Bruce Beneke, Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services Janice Allen, Anoka County Attorney's Office David Piper, Family Law Mediator Rosemary Frazel, Children's Defense Fund Gwen Werner, Ramsey County Attorney's Office Michelle Tonelli, Hennepin County Public Defender's Office Fred Friedman, 6th District Public Defender's Office Kevin Corbid. Association of Minnesota Counties Keith Carlson, Metropolitan Inter County Association Hon. Heather Sweetland, Judge of Sixth Judicial District Hon. Gerald Seibel, Judge of the Eighth Judicial District Rep. Loren Solberg, Minnesota House of Representatives Sen. Thomas Neuville, Minnesota Senate

4. The Honorable Kevin S. Burke, Judge of Fourth Judicial District, is hereby appointed as Chair of the Minnesota Supreme Court Task Force on Court Appointed Civil Counsel.

DATED: April 18, 2000

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice